An in-the-workplace problem

Read the forum code of contact

Member for

17 years 4 months

A quick question for those more legal minded than I.

I work in retail and are aware that my company sends mystery shoppers in. Tonight I am greeted by an email where it appears we have had a new form of mystery shopper come onto site and mark the staff on differant criteria. I have no problem with that. What does worry me is that the mystery shopper has taken photographs of my staff working (or not in this case)

Whilst not trying to cover any wrong doings by my staff is it right that staff can be photographed unaware ? Personally whilst agreeing with cctv this is a whole differant kettle of fish.

Any thoughts ?

Original post

Member for

24 years 2 months

Legally there is nothing wrong with it

Morally it is pretty repugnant

Moggy

Member for

17 years 4 months

If said staff had been stealing, fighting or a multitude of other crimes I would have little sympathy. They were chatting to each other. Hardly crime of the year.

Whilst not condoning their behaviour it is making me think do I wish to work for a company with these morals.

Thank you Moggy. I sadly thought what you have said would be the case.

Member for

15 years 8 months

So for all the management exercises and training they do, they still don't seem to grasp the importance of staff happiness to a job well done. Let them chat, its an effective team building exercise which you don't have to pay some pointless external company for.

Member for

24 years 2 months

I've run small companies of my own. It is hard when you are struggling with the end-of-month accounts and worrying about cashflow and VAT to see the people you pass significant chunks of money too each month chatting and laughing away as if they didn't have a care in the world.

But far better that than gloomy and depressed.

As long as customer service never suffers let them enjoy themselves

Moggy

Member for

12 years 11 months