Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Flight Sim X default ATC

Collapse
X
Collapse
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • bryan
    Rank 1 Registered User
    • Mar 2009
    • 4

    Flight Sim X default ATC

    Hello all,
    One of my frustrations in FSX is when I display the default ATC, I can only get a limited number of airfields to contact. I can not contact the particular airfield I want untill I fly within a limited distance of that airfield.
    Is it possible to reconfigure the default ATC to display more airfields?
    Or does anyone know of an alternative add-on ATC
    to suit FSX.
    Cheers, Bryan.
  • Moggy C
    Moderator
    • Jan 2000
    • 20534

    #2
    Originally posted by bryan View Post
    I can not contact the particular airfield I want until I fly within a limited distance of that airfield.
    Which is pretty much the situation in real life.

    Why do you want to change that to something less realistic?

    Moggy
    Last edited by Moggy C; 29th March 2009, 21:28.
    "What you must remember" Flip said "is that nine-tenths of Cattermole's charm lies beneath the surface." Many agreed.

    Comment

    • bryan
      Rank 1 Registered User
      • Mar 2009
      • 4

      #3
      Hello Moggy,
      The reason I would like to change is because I would like to contact a major airfield earlier to give me time to start descending and to know what my landing instructions will be.
      Bryan.

      Comment

      • Moggy C
        Moderator
        • Jan 2000
        • 20534

        #4
        Can you not request a descent from your en-route frequency?

        In the real world it is the airways controller you must negotiate your descent with as it's his airspace you are manoeuvring in, not the airfield's.

        (You can see I know little of MFS.)

        Most larger airfields have an ATIS that gives out pre-recorded information on the status of the field. Is this not accessible from a distance either?

        Moggy
        "What you must remember" Flip said "is that nine-tenths of Cattermole's charm lies beneath the surface." Many agreed.

        Comment

        • bryan
          Rank 1 Registered User
          • Mar 2009
          • 4

          #5
          G,day Moggie,
          Not sure what you mean by en-route frequency, is that the FSX default ATC?
          If it is the default ATC I cannot request anything because I cannot contact the airfield or controller of that airspace until I get close to it, eg.Brisbane International Airport (Australia) is only contactable within about 7 to 10 nautical miles.
          Bryan.

          Comment

          • SkippyBing
            Rank 4 Registered User
            • Feb 2009
            • 76

            #6
            If you've filed an IFR flight plan ATC should vector you for the correct approach well in advance and chop you across to the correct frequency.
            If you've loaded a saved flight you generally need to re-activate your flight plan.

            Comment

            • bryan
              Rank 1 Registered User
              • Mar 2009
              • 4

              #7
              Thank you SkippyBing, you have solved my problem - I was flying VFR instead of IFR. As you have now probably guessed I am not used to flying heavy metal.
              Thanks again
              Bryan.

              Comment

              Unconfigured Ad Widget

              Collapse

               

              Working...
              X