CDG or Orly - which is best?

Read the forum code of contact

Member for

24 years 3 months

I shall soon be taking a trip to Paris. Does anyone know which Paris airport is best for viewing and photography (and also shooting video)? Also, what is Le Bourget used for, is it a domestic airport?

Original post

RE: CDG or Orly - which is best?

I am not an expert on the Paris airfields but I have been to all three. Le Bourget I only visited for the biannual show. I believe it is most used for business jets and maybe some cargo (although I'm not sure about this. I don't know if there are any regular flights to Le Bourget but if there are it won't be many. But its defenetely worth a visit because of the Museum there. Great stuff they have.
Orly is Paris's second airfield and if you are into AOM, Air Liberté and these kind of carriers, this is the place to be. Also some Air France aircraft are based there. For te rest you can see carriers of several origins. And sometimes some really cool stuff. When I flew there last time there was an Il-62 on the tarmac!!! I don't know if there is a good spot where to take photographs from.