Key.Aero Network
Register Free

Thread: BBC series "Sailor"

BBC series "Sailor"

Started watching "Sailor" on dvd. Its a very cool bbc series from 1976. FANTASTIC footage of Ark Royal! Ahhh.....when Britain had a REAL aircraft carrier!

And in 6 years we will do again...hopefully.

Quote Originally Posted by hawkdriver05 View Post
    Started watching "Sailor" on dvd. Its a very cool bbc series from 1976. FANTASTIC footage of Ark Royal! Ahhh.....when Britain had a REAL aircraft carrier!
    Brings back a lot of memories for me. I was a Naval air Mechanic on the Buccaneer (809) squadron at the time.

We joined the ship at Devonport from RAF Honington flying to St Mawgan in the back of a Belfast! Then by bus to Plymouth.

The same day I was queuing at the on-board Naafi when I felt someone pulling at my hair....then the booming voice of Tom Wilkinson Master at arms, 'Where the hell do you think your going with hair like that you great party!' I was marched off to the barber before reporting to the Regulating office....happy days when I look back, not sure if I enjoyed it all that much at the time!
    Last edited by Muscle-Manta; 9th April 2010 at 14:27.

Al is offline Embittered old curmudgeon
    I'd like to see that again.
    Having grown up near Lossiemouth, with a brother-in-law who regularly used to take me to see the aircraft he worked on (HMS Fulmar Scimitars, Buccaneer S1 and S2s, and Gannets 1960 to 1973), I have very nostalgic connections with the Fleet Air Arm...

I was in Gibraltar Tower in the late 70's when she made her final paying off visit.

Sad to see her exit the harbour with a huge paying off pennant flying from her mainmast.

We ended up with one of her AEW Gannets on our firedump.

Hawkdriver05