Key.Aero Network
Register Free

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: WW2 Aircraft Wrecks in the English channel(2008)

WW2 Aircraft Wrecks in the English channel(2008)

Might be a very "greenish" question to ask.. but here goes.

There must be hundreds and hundreds of aircrafts in the english channel, from Spits to Tiffies to Tempests to FW190 and anything inbetween. There must also be hundreds of planes in close proximity to the shorelines on both sides of the channel.

Is it totally not possible to at least try a few rescue missions for some of these aircrafts if they can be found? I mean, they did indeed find the Titanic and managed to bring up several artifacts from it. I'm not an expert in channel depths or anything but I would think that if the deep is the problem, there is at least the possibility of some of the ones close to the shorelines?

Is the problem that parts of these areas are made to be war graves and therefore not reachable? Or is corrotion the major issue and in reality theres nothing left of any planes? Or is it just a matter of economy?
    Author explaining the state of historic aviation;

"[...] I don't get any fangirls, just old guys trying to tell me stuff I already know."

as always i think you will find that "money" is the deciding factor lol

i don't proclaim to be any sort of diver or anything, but I'm sure i remember a Channel 4 programme a few years back on the subject of Glen Miller's dissappearance. I seem to remember that a group spent many months chartering the english channle for aircraft wrecks and used remote vehicles to explore the wreckage. All of the aircraft on the video seemed to be severely eroded, to the point in most instances where only the engines (very worn) were left. Somebody came on to say that the english channel has some pretty strong under water currents that due to the very nature of the cold water that flows through there, most of the wreckage byu now will have dissintergrated.