Key.Aero Network
Register Free

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Vulcan Crash on Anglesey?

Vulcan Crash on Anglesey?

Hi all, I have been browsing this forum for about 6 months and have just registered finally!

I work at RAF Valley and often fly rc from the camp, where I often get chattin to some of the older guys who are ex-raf and some ex jockeys.

Now I have heard about a Vulcan crashing on the island, may have been late 50's, early 60's. Story goes that she came in with an engine fire and was sent out to sea where the rear crew bailed and the pilots trimmed for a descent and ejected. Now as they were floating to the sea they watched as the plane turned back for land and crashed on some farmland near to the village of caergeiliog.

Any idea how tru this story is? Have heard it from a few people but yet to see any evidence!

Also there was a vulcan on the dump in valley for years, any history on this one?

There is a plane buried nearby, but its a twin prop of some kind from the 60's

Thanks

Hello Mr Noodle. The Vulcan was XA909 of 101 Sqn Waddington and it came down on 16th July 64 at Gwalchmai. Unusally everyone got out of it. There is lots of detail in Roy Sloan's 'Anglesey Air Accidents' book.

Welcome to the Forum Tye. You probably have your answer already, but the accident to XM610 is earily similar and well worth reading!

http://www.neam.co.uk/wingate.html
    http://www.flightmemory.com/ I have been round the world 10.8 times!

Duh, Gwalchmai not Caergeiliog! I know 50 odd sheep got killed when the plane hit the deck, mainly of shock! Thanks for clarifying some of the info, I wonder if any board users have any pictures of vulcans at valley? I hear they were based here for a short while? Would be nice to see some from the early days

Paul

Quote Originally Posted by TyeNoodle View Post
    Also there was a vulcan on the dump in valley for years, any history on this one?
    Welcome to the forum!