Key.Aero Network
Register Free

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Name American Fighter jets with CANARDS

Post Name American Fighter jets with CANARDS

Why is it that Americans have not come forward in implementing this tech into their fighter aircrafts (keeping in mind the EF and Rafale both have canards)?

I really cant think of any American fighter/bomber (except the Rockwell Lancer :diablo: ) which comes with canards.

Plz discuss.

Lightbulb

F-15 ACTIVE
    X-31
    X-29
    Important Hyper Note: I am NOT an Aeronautical Engineer NOR an Aerospace Expert, etc, etc nor do I claim to be one.
    Regards,
    Hyper McStupid

A few early Grumman VFX proposals had canards and fixed wings. The final F-14 had "glove vanes," hardly canards, though.

Lockheed's ASTOVL/CALF proposal had canards. The same basic configuration was preserved for the wining X-35 JSF proposal - but the canards were deleted.

Quote Originally Posted by aced_inc
    Why is it that Americans have not come forward in implementing this tech into their fighter aircrafts (keeping in mind the EF and Rafale both have canards)?

I really cant think of any American fighter/bomber (except the Rockwell Lancer :diablo: ) which comes with canards.

Plz discuss.